This week, I decided to share a few of the best blog posts I’ve come across in the past seven days. Hope you enjoy them as much as I did!

In-ten(t)-shǝ-năʹ-lə-tē

This thought-provoking post comes from Paul at WindblownWords, one of my favorite blogs. I had been mulling over the question “does fiction need a thesis?” when I found Paul’s post discussing the idea that writer’s should have an intention, a purpose, for what they write.

20131225_3-2
Paul likes to drop nature shots into his blog. This one is a gem!

He also brings up the interesting idea that the purpose of our writing might emerge from our subconscious because “when we write, we reveal our own idiosyncrasies or in the worst case scenario our own fears or hidden desires!”

The South Will Samba Again

This post comes from EsoterX, a clever little blog I discovered yesterday. It details “the Lost Colony of the Confederacy,” which lies just outside of Sao Paulo, Brazil. To this day, Brazil even recognizes a racial subgroup called “confederados.” These Confederados have an annual festival where they fly the confederate flag, dress up as southern belles, and eat fried chicken!

Image result for scarlett o'hara
I have a feeling Scarlett could tear up the samba floor.

As some of you may know, I’ve just moved from Tennessee to Brazil. Naturally, I was excited to uncover this link between the culture I left behind and my new culture. I asked my husband if he had ever heard of the Confederados; he said he had, but he never knew their backstory!

Making Fairytales from Books

This post comes from Kristen Twardowski, who runs a class-act blog about writing and publishing. She spotlights the haunting art of an artist named Su Blackwell, who recycles old books into fairy tale sculptures.

Image result for su blackwell
Su Blackwell at her finest.

The post contains this magnificent quote from Su Blackwell: “For the cut-out illustrations, I tend to lean towards young-girl characters, placing them in haunting, fragile settings, expressing the vulnerability of childhood, while also conveying a sense of childhood anxiety and wonder.”

It reminds me very much of the theme in my first novel, Eleanorwhich deals with a girl’s desperation to keep the fairy tale world of her childhood alive.

I also discovered that Kristen dabbled in diorama artwork as a child, which clenches it. I am now, officially, a big Kristen fan!

PS- If you all couldn’t tell by the photos, I’m getting super stoked about Halloween. I never cared much about Halloween as a child, but my last two Halloweens were magical to the tenth. Can’t wait to see what this Halloween has in store!

4 thoughts on “A Few Pre-Halloween Treats

  1. When I was a child the only acknowledgement of Halloween here in Australia was the Disney movies on Saturday Nights. It was talked about & small groups celebrated when my oldest 2 were kids. But in the last 3 years it has gotten huge.

    Like

    1. Interesting! Any ideas what triggered the explosion?

      So far, I’ve experience Halloween in the US, Ireland, and Brazil. The US seems to make the biggest fuss, but then again, it’s a very consumerist nation. I did see trick-or-treaters in Ireland, but I didn’t see wild decorations or mother loads of candy, as we have in the US. Brazil…nothing much happening. I saw one girl in a costume on the bus.

      Thanks for sharing about Halloween down under! (PS- Does it annoy Australians to be called “down under?”)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No we have a lot of songs & jokes where we call ourselves from the Land Down Under. I think it was the shops pushing it, We’ve had the American TV push for ages, but there was never much stuff in the shops. Then again consumerism by kids seems to be on the rise. Who knows? 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

